Reviews

These are some reviews we have collected personally or through our profiles on TripAdvisor, Instagram or Facebook. If you have any reviews you would like to send in, please use the "contact us" page or email bronnie@backtoedenvanuatu.com.

Oustanding!

This place is a must see!!! The most beautiful spot on the island I reckon! Bronnie and Alan have created such a beautiful paradise and we will definitely be back to stay next time! Food in the restaurnt is also absolutely fantastic...well worth going off the beaten track to see this place! Thanks guys!

"Innergodess" via TripAdvisor. (Jan 2019)

An amazing place to go, and we will be going back this year.

This hard to find fantastic place lives up to the name. The whole place is great, The snorkeling is to die for. The food is awesome and the people make it.

Kel S. (Jan 2019)

Great food, great hosts, and a nice location.

We happened to drop in on a trip around the Island. It was a bit late for lunch, and we were the only ones in the restaurant, so we wound up having a nice conversation with the owners. The menu doesn't have a huge selection of items on it, but all of the 3 items we ordered were great. We wondered around the grounds a bit after eating, and all in all it was a very pleasant experience.

To get to the restaurant you have to take a rather bumpy unpaved road down the hill from the highway. It's bad enough that we did contemplate turning back, but it was definitely worth the perserverance. Even better, today was apparently the first day of work on paving that road, so in 6 months access may be dramatically better than today.

"LuvToEatOut" via TripAdvisor. (Dec 2018)

Amazing snorkelling - turtles, giant clams & clown fish

I had a wonderful Sunday morning on a guided snorkelling tour with Alan (one of the owners of Back to Eden). The snorkelling was amazing - definitely some of the best I've experienced in the few months I have spent around Efate. The visibility was excellent and we saw a number of turtles, a "city" of clown fish, and giant clams - as well as many other beautiful fish and corals. The restaraunt itself was lovely (I highly recommend Bronnie's chocolate cake!) with a very relaxing atmosphere, and the owners very friendly and welcoming. Thanks Alan & Bronnie for a wonderful morning.

Mel G. (July 2018)

Great relaxed place for snorkelling and food

A fantastic relaxed place. Very friendly, nice food. Great hosts, some good looking accommodation too. Recommend.

Russell O. (June 2018)

Fantastic Day Out

Went visited Back to Eden yesterday 6th May. Back to Eden is truly a beautiful oasis. Alan & Brony (the owners) made us feel extremely welcome. We went snorkeling out on the reef right off Back to Eden. The quality of the reef & the variety of the fish is just spectacular. After a great time in the ocean we had a delicious lunch. Which was followed by a walk to the waterfall & a lesson on how to catch yabbies local style.

We decided to stay until sunset & it was truly worth the stay. Alan. Brony, their daughter & grandchildren joined us to watch the sunset. What a glorious end to a fantastic day. We will definitely be returning to Back to Eden & recommend very one take the time to visit this treasure. You will not be disappointed.

S.D. & D. D. (May 2018)

Awesome location, hosts and food!

We went for a family road trip to Back to Eden Vanuatu for lunch and got home at 7:30pm, what an awesome day, we did not want to leave! Fantastic homemade food, kids toys and games in the restaurant, hidden waterfalls in walking distance, yabbie catching, coconut tree climbing, amazing snorkeling, awesome hosts Alan and Bronnie and the most amazing sunset over Hat Island. Such a super day! Kids were asking before we left when we could go back. Next visit we will make time to stay the night in the new bungalow. We will definitely be back!
 
Carla, from World Car Rentals Vanuatu  (April 2018)

Wish We'd Stayed Longer!

We stopped here for a pit stop on our journey around the island and boy are we glad we did! We only had time for a drink but we wish we had time to come back to 1. Go snorkelling, and 2.stay for some food. The setting is stunning and as we sat having a drink, chatting to Bronnie and Alan, the owners, we were fortunate enough to take in the scenery in pure tranquility and see a turtle off in the distance! I would highly recommend this place to anyone, especially for a chance to escape the madness of the world (they have a bungalow on AirBnB) and to go snorkelling- we saw so much off the rocks and as mentioned, we sadly didn’t even have time to go snorkelling! We will definitely return when we come back to Vanuatu. Bronnie and Alan were incredibly friendly and very welcoming. I look forward to returning their one day!
Ami P. (July 2018)

Accommodation Review

My Husband and I stayed two nights in the island bungalow at Back to Eden in Mangaliliu! We had a wonderful time! The atmosphere was serene and beautiful just the rejuvenation we were looking for! Staying in the bungalow was refreshing. Cool breeze, and great views making our stay restful and peaceful! Although we very much enjoyed the days adventures like snorkeling seeing magnificent colors of corals and fish and a bush walk to the cascades. We found the nights to be our favorite as we watched the beautiful sunset on the water and were filled with wander as the the night darkened and the sky came alive with lots of stars and fire flies lighting the way. Just so lovley! Great get away! I highly recommend it!!! Not only is the hospitality top notch, because of its warmth and friendliness but the food is delicious too! All in all I would give a high rating for Back to Eden! And we hope to visit here again!
Hannah M (May 2018)

Wonderful place for a relaxing break.

Great snorkeling anytime, but thrilled to twice have the privilege of swimming with a turtle during our 3 night stay. Great place to be still and enjoy the beauty but plenty of activities to engage in as well; spent a great day with Paco at what is now known as Survivor beach, hearing many interesting stories of the history of the land and the uses of the local plants; another morning we spent with Jacob fishing around Hat Island again learning local stories whilst catching a couple of barracuda; also fortunate to be at the opening day of the Independence day celebrations and enjoyed the morning talking with the local mamas. Thanks Bonnie, Allan & family for your wonderful hospitality, generous and satisfying meals and the game of cribbage! Highly recommend this place.

M. Morris. Via Facebook (July 2019)

5 Star

Thank you for the amazing experience yesterday. You have a beautiful property and an outstanding reef to dive on. Lunch was divine and your customer service was relaxed and refreshing.
Presley was a wonderful guide, and obviously loves his job and caring for Edens reef. He knew exactly where to find the turtles , fish , shells and giant clam garden. An amazing experience.

M & C Cash. Via Facebook (June 2019)

Amazing!

Had a wonderful time being shown the marine life by Alan, then dinner and cocktails were superb. Alan and Bron are wonderful and we enjoyed a memorable day. To visit Back to Eden is a must when you come to Vanuatu.

N Rae. Via Facebook (June 2019)

Awesome!!!

We buddied up with two couples staying at our resort and booked as a group to do a snorkelling tour at Eden - and it was the highlight of our trip!

Alan was very thorough at checking our levels of confidence and swimming abilities and kitted us out in all the gear we needed - including rashies for those that wanted them and pool noodles for those of us that weren't strong swimmers.

We were in the water for just a couple of minutes before a turtle swam by, and Alan later told us he's a regular visitor. Not moments later we saw a much larger turtle who was a little more shy, and Alan said we were very lucky to see him as he's not often around.

We saw amazing corals and fish of all sizes, types and colours - including the "nemo city", a large coral that had so many nemos living in it that I couldn't count them all! It was amazing! And the giant clams were just incredible.

I'm not a strong swimmer, and I am wary of deep water, but at no time did I feel unsafe or afraid. I enjoyed this tour so much and will definitely return on my next visit to Vanuatu.

After our swim we were ravenous and Bronnie's food was absolutely delicious! A friend of theirs had caught a 12kg mahi mahi just the day before so most of our group enjoyed that, with one having pork belly (which she said was the best she'd ever eaten anywhere), another enjoying nachos (given a very high rating too!) and I was just so happy with my simple cheese and salad wrap.

Everything was so reasonably priced that I thought they'd made a mistake in adding up my share!

Alan and Bronnie were so warm and welcoming and we all enjoyed the day so very much.

It is a little bit of a drive from Port Vila but believe me - it is more than worth it!

Don't hesitate to book it!!

🙂

Sujoy P. (November 2018)

Snorkelling, Restaurant and Bungalow Retreat

My friends and I organised a day at Return To Eden after finding out about this hidden treasure. The owners Alan and Bronnie ensured we had an amazing day from the moment we were picked up from our resort. Alan was full of practical and interesting knowledge regarding the local culture and area. We had a wonderful time snorkeling with Alan as our guide. We did not miss a thing seeing turtles, one majestically swimming through the water as well as huge clams and other points of interest he alerted us to. The snorkling was truly amazing. On return we had a beautiful lunch both mains and deserts excellent. Conversation flowed and we were most welcome to sit outside on the chairs with fresh water to drink and binoculars to use after lunch. We were driven back to town at our leisure. This day at Back to Eden was probably the highlight of our trip. We were so warmly welcomed and taken care of throughout the whole day. Absolutely excellent and will definitely return. Thank you so much Alan and Bronnie.

Powlau. (June 2018)

Fabulous! We all loved it.

Our entire experience was great... the hosts were the nicest people and the service was outstanding, our food was delicious, it was child friendly and the snorkelling was amazing! You have to do the snorkelling!!

The best experience we’ve had in Vanuatu.. we highly recommend this place.

Jodie R. (June 2018)

Amazing Snorkelling and Food

We recently had an amazing day out at 'Back to Eden'.
Although the road to Mangaliliu can be a little hard to navigate it was well worth it!
From beginning to end our hosts Bronwyn and Alan made us feel welcome and couldn't do enough to ensure that our experience was a good one. Being avid snorkelers we set off on our own adventure (with tips provided by Alan) and experienced some of the better snorkelling we have had around the island of Efate.
We saw three turtles, Nemo city, a baby stingray and loads of colourful fish and coral. After our adventure we relaxed in the restaurant for lunch. We were 'blown away' by the quality of the food and service (some of the best Nachos I've ever had).
If you are looking for a fun day out for the family then this is the place to go.
We will definitely be back!
Nikki G (May 2018)

Back to Eden day trip review

Having experienced snorkelling off Moso Island and the reefs off Eratap resort we were pleasantly surprised by this less well known snorkelling spot. Alan the proprietor took us on a guided snorkelling tour that included giant clams, clown fish, turtles and large Fish on a rugged backdrop of sea canyons.

Exhilarating unique snorkelling experience followed by a high class lunch. Try the pork belly which is to die for! This place is in its infancy but the wonderful hospitality of the owners together with the quality of the food will put this place on the map.

Michael K (July 2018)